

# Human Services Background Study Eligibility Task Force

Friday, December 10<sup>th</sup>, 2021 10:00 AM Remote Hearing via Zoom

# **Meeting Minutes**

## Those Present

Joshua Esmay Gina Evans Jon Geffen Benjamin Hanson Dave Irvin Tiffany Kacir Nicole Mattson Inspector General Kulani Moti Jolene Rebertus Representative Kristin Robbins Leo Sandoval Melissa Sherlock Dywon Tatum TaShonda Williamson

## **Excused**

Senator Bobby Jo Champion Lucas Dawson Lieutenant Andy Knotz Honorable Gail Kulick Senator Andrew Mathews Representative Kelly Moller Max Page Honorable Melissa Saterbak

# Call to order:

Chair Jon Geffen called the remote meeting of the Human Services Background Study Eligibility Task Force to order at 10:03 a.m. A quorum was present.

# Adoption of previous meeting minutes:

Minutes for the October 15 and November 12 meetings were adopted as previously distributed.

### **Election of Vice-Chair:**

Dywon Tatum nominated Gina Evans to fill the position of Vice-Chair (left vacant by Dean Gilbertson's resignation). Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken.

Ayes: Mr. Esmay, Ms. Evans, Mr. Geffen, Mr. Hanson, Mr. Irvin, Ms. Kacir, Ms. Mattson, Inspector-General Moti, Ms. Rebertus, Rep. Robbins, Mr. Sandoval, Ms. Sherlock, Mr. Tatum, Ms. Williamson Absent: Sen. Champion, Ms. Dawson, Lt. Knotz, Judge Kulick, Sen. Matthews, Rep. Moller, Mr. Page, Judge Saterbak

14 Ayes, 0 Nays, 8 Absent. Motion Prevailed.

### Presentation on LCC Policy Against Discrimination and Harassment training:

Michelle Weber, LCC gave an overview of an upcoming training on the LCC Policy Against Discrimination and Harassment.

#### DHS presentation on background check process:

Jill Roberts and Katie Ryan, DHS gave an informational presentation on the background check process.

#### Presentation on advocates' view of background check process:

Chair Geffen gave an informational presentation on advocates' viewpoint on the background check process.

#### **Overview of Working Group on Subcommittees recommendations:**

TaShonda Williamson, Chair of the Working Group on Subcommittees, gave an introduction to the activities of the Working Group.

Will Vogel, LCC gave a presentation on the subcommittee structure recommended by the Working Group.

#### **Establishment of Subcommittees:**

Joshua Esmay moved that the Task Force adopt the subcommittee structure proposed by the Working Group, and to grant to Chair Geffen the power to assign members to subcommittees. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken.

Ayes: Ms. Dawson, Mr. Esmay, Ms. Evans, Mr. Geffen, Mr. Hanson, Mr. Irvin, Ms. Kacir, Judge Kulick, Ms. Mattson, Inspector-General Moti, Mr. Page, Ms. Rebertus, Rep. Robbins, Mr. Sandoval, Ms. Sherlock, Mr. Tatum, Ms. Williamson

Absent: Sen. Champion, Lt. Knotz, Sen. Matthews, Rep. Moller, Judge Saterbak

17 Ayes, 0 Nays, 5 Absent. Motion Prevailed.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:50 a.m.